It has been over two weeks already since I arrived to Finland on 2nd January. I’m settling in quite good and I’m more familiar with the city now. I also bought a bike, so that I could get around faster.

And you know, a bike is a very good thing, but if you’re not used to riding it in winter time you should definitely prepare yourself for it. At least mentally if you can’t do it in any other way.

I for once, have never ridden a bicycle during winter. I love to cycle in the summer, when I can wear comfortable clothes that don’t hinder my moves. It’s a great way to relax and work out at the same time as well as visit different places in the city and outside of it. Very rarely I use my Polish bike as a mean of transport. Only sometimes when I have to return books to the library and taking a bus seems senseless because of traffic jams and all.

Parking for bicycles in front of one of the university buildings (Agora)
Parking for bicycles in front of one of the university buildings (Agora)

But here I am, with a second-hand bike that I bought for 70 € (crazy!), trying to get used to this new (and tiring) situation. It would be really nice if I was in, for example, The Netherlands, where the terrain is mostly flat, so riding a bike is a relaxing way of getting from one place to another. But I’m in Finland, and this country, my dear friends, looks like one big sinusoid if you know what I mean. When you go down the hill it’s very nice, but then you have to climb another hill and it can be a real pain in the ass.

Seriously, Finns are so close to the nature that they don’t interfere with the lay of the land. They build their roads according to the terrain. When you have a car it’s not a problem, but when you have to ride a bike up those countless hills… Well, you know. And it’s not that I have all those fancy bike clothes. No, I wear my jeans and my long jacket and I have to dress like an onion, because it’s cold out there (-20.5 °C right now). And so, it’s not that comfortable as you would think.

Yep, everything is up the hill around here...
Yep, everything is up the hill around here…

Yeah, and another thing of being here which I would count as a flaw is the fact, that being so far away from home means you don’t really know what’s happening in your family and among friends. You can’t do anything if something is wrong or someone gets sick or something. You just feel helpless, because all you can do is Skype with them and tell them it’s gonna be okay, when you could do so many other things to make the situation better.

I’m afraid that if I think about this too much right now, I’m not going to last through this 4,5 months that I have left. I already feel like I’ve seen everything, tried everything (which is obviously not true) and met too many people according to my own standards. I’m a private person, in the matter of socializing I’m very Finnish I guess. I don’t want to go to parties everyday, I don’t want to keep meeting new people. I want to get to know better those I’ve already met, so that I can find someone with whom I feel good, maybe even safe.

Okay, now I’m just getting to this dark, gloomy place, that is so typical for me, so I’ll stop myself at this point and tell you that it’s not that bad after all. Okay, so I’m tired from the cycling (XD) and maybe feeling a little bit lonely and out of place. But I’m sure it will go away soon (definitely it will go away when I’m back in my disorganized and crazy home country ;]), so keep your fingers crossed for me and I’ll try not to write depressive posts =D

