Sooo, big news today: Nightwish has released a press statement in which they informed, that Anette Olzon will no longer be their lead vocalist.

To be honest, since the moment I read about this on their Facebook page, I’ve been over the moon. For a true Nightwish fan like me, this is like the best info there could be. Of course I know, that Tarja won’t be coming back to her first (and only) band, but I guess I’m happy with just the fact, that I won’t have to listen to Anette’s annoying voice. Believe me, I tried. I bought those two albums NW recorded with her as a vocalist and I even listened to them more than once, but there are limits…

I don’t know what happened that made them make that decision and honestly: I don’t care. It’s quite weird though — they decided to part ways in the middle of the Imaginaerum Tour. And, since I brought that up, Floor Jansen (ReVamp, ex-After Forever) will be joining the guys for the upcoming gigs. I APPROVE. She’s a soprano singer and even though she doesn’t have such vocal range as Tarja, she surely can hit high notes in Nightiwish’s songs. She will do them just, not like Anette…

Now I kinda regret I will not have the chance to listen to her versions of my favourite songs (I really hope she’ll sing some from the previous albums, not only Imaginaerum and Dark Passion Play).

But, she’s only filling for Anette, so it’s not quite sure in which direction Nightwish goes after what happened today. I hope they’ll come back to their origins, because this curent “popular” sound doesn’t suit them. So, good luck guys, I expect you find a very good vocalist with a strong and trained voice. A vocalist who is aware of the fact, that this should not be a mainstream band (although there’s no coming back I’m afraid).

